As of now everyone is familiar with the WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ feature which was rolled out a few days back. It lets users delete or revoke sent messages within seven minutes of sending them. This cool feature was really helpful in lot many ways, but is there a possibility that we can still read those deleted messages? Well yes. Recently Android Jefe, a Spanish Android blog, has discovered a way around this feature, and claims that deleted messages on the device can still be read by the recipient. All this is made possible with the app called Notification History. Users running Android 7.0 Nougat or higher version can simply download a third-party app called Notification History to read deleted messages. After downloading the Notification History app from Google Play Store, users will be able to see message that has been actually deleted in the Android Notification log.
This app works only for deleted text messages, and not photos, videos or any other media. The simple ideology that works here is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So by entering that record, one would easily see the messages that the other person deleted. The Notification History application is a shortcut to enter that record.
Though this app helps in reading the deleted messages but it also comes with certain drawbacks. Apart from the fact that only text message can be viewed but only the first 100 characters of message will be visible to users. Also, only messages for which a user has received notification can be seen i.e. only messages stored in the register can be seen. Further, the messages are apparently stored for a few hours on the device and are deleted if users restart their device. Finally, it probably doesn’t works for devices running Android versions older than Android 7.0 Nougat.