The most awaited feature is now available in the WhatsApp’s recent update
We as a user always wished of deleting or revoking few messages which were sent mistakenly. Well now it’s possible, with the recent update provided by WhatsApp includes the ability to delete and revoke messages after you’ve sent them.
To access this feature both the sender and receiver must have the latest WhatsApp update. You can either delete messages for everyone or just for yourself (the earlier normal delete operation). This allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. WhatsApp has been working on this feature for almost a year and has launched it officially.
To delete specific message, follow these simple steps
- Tap and hold on the message that has to be deleted.
- Choose on the delete option.
- You will be displayed with “delete for me”, “cancel” and “delete for everyone” options
- On selecting “delete for everyone” among the given options, the message will be deleted leaving behind “This message was deleted” in sender’s as well as receivers chats.
- This feature allows you to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them.
The recent update comes with few drawbacks such as, it allows the recipients to see your message before its deleted or if deletion was not successful. It’s also possible that WhatsApp users will be able to see messages in notifications before they’re deleted.
This particular feature will be useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent is mistaken.
WhatsApp has over 200 million monthly active users in India and 1.2 billion users worldwide. This feature is now available for users around the world on the latest versions of iPhone, Android, Windows Phone and desktop as well.